Here’s my blog…finally.

Standard

Yeah, yeah, I know I’ve talked about doing this blog for months. Many of you became skeptical, shaking your heads and mumbling that I talk a good game. But I’m taking a break from income-producing writing (Yes, there is such a thing.) to do some stuff that’s more close to home and a chance to do the funny thing.

Those of you who don’t know me, which I hope is the majority of people visiting this blog because I only have like 19 friends and that wouldn’t be much traffic, welcome to my distorted vision of being single.

So here it is – “Single People’s Grocery Lists”

Hopefully, we’ll have some fun with it. I have a feeling you’ll start to analyze your own weird crap as you take it out of your cart and load it on the checkout belt. “What does 18 cans of baby food, 4 bottles of wine, 16 cans of cat food and popcorn say about me?”

 

 

 

16 responses »

  1. At least the baby’s getting more food than the cat, right? Although baby food typically comes in a jar, not a can. 😉 Congrats on the new blog! I’m looking forward to morning laughs!

    • Thanks, D. Yeah, jars. I know because the sound they make when you open them makes the cat come running. Thanks for the congrats – always appreciated from you!

  2. Dawn: Leave it to Writer/Mom to correct my use of “cans” of baby food. Since they were for the cat, I probably lumped them in w/ cat food, under, “things I hope to God my picky cat will eat!”

  3. Quinn:

    The inclusion of both lettuce and radishes concerns me. Vegetables really are not compatible w/ beer or chips. What are you going to do – balance a radish on your chip?

  4. Hayley:

    I think your subconscious is telling you that your fear of vampires needs to be addressed. How’s that for a grocery list head-shrinking?!

    N

  5. Is this is what I have to look forward to in Sept when I move into empty nest stage? You’re scaring me Nancy! Although, if I live on wine and popcorn I won’t have to wash dishes … Not bad.

    • Actually, no, since you’re married – not unless that wonderful hubby of yours decides to take a powder.

      But you can still eat like a single person. Wine and popcorn include many of the nutrients you need on a daily basis. Be sure to mix it up w/ white and red wine for extra vitamins.

  6. Wine and popcorn are a staple dinner for the single person– I recommend the new lime-and-salt-flavored popcorn; it goes great with a cheap merlot. However, no meal is complete without dessert; I recommend Hershey kisses, miniatures, or rolos. Since they’re small, the calories don’t count. They also go well with a cheap merlot…

    • You are SO right, J. I do my chocolate with a cheap, but really good Malbec. And I have been enhancing that popcorn w/ a squirt of lime. More fruit, so it’s good for me, right?

  7. Trader Joe’s Mushroom Risotto, Trader Joe’s Roasted Vegetable Couscous, Trader Joe’s chicken lasagna with a salad bag on the side. Says another home-nuked meal.

    • Pat: That’s my kind of shopping/cooking. Looks a little too healthy though, which may be a problem. Might want to throw in some of those sea-salt caramels and a case of wine for balance. Just sayin’.

Leave a Reply

