Is Gorgonzola Super Bowl Food?

Standard

As my friend just reminded me, “You’re kind of a boy that way,” when I told her I do like to watch pro football. But the Super Bowl this year doesn’t do it for me. But I’ll side w/ the majority of my friends who don’t like Tom Brady and become an instant Giants fan.

However,  I did buy an avocado to make guacamole to pay homage to the big game. But instead, I’m doing this apple/red onion/gorgonzola/fig jam pizza. I know. It’s so far from football food, it’s almost in a different sport. Maybe figure skating?

In addition to some staples like red wine, fishy cat food and coffee creamer, I bought a few treats at the grocery yesterday:

  • “Chinese” cookies – the quotes are because I would call them Asian. I’ve decided that besides the almond flavoring, their texture is what’s addicting.
  • Light cream cheese – I call this a treat because I use it like a condiment – on a ham sandwich w/ red onion or a bagel w/ raspberry jam.
  • Arugula – I haven’t mentioned this before on here, but I’m a crazy arugula fan. I’ve found that many people aren’t. I’m going to toss it w/ balsamic vinegar and olive oil and put it on that pizza above.
  • Mexican shredded cheese blend – This is one of those totally necessary foods I use to create the laziest meal ever. Cheese melted on tortilla chips. You can’t even call them nachos because there is no other ingredient. This meal takes 50 seconds on 50% power in the micro.

Not the most exciting single people shopping trip report. But I did lose my truck key and that was somewhat interesting…

2 responses »

  1. O.M.G. Cheese melted on tortilla chips is one of my favorite late night snacks. Only I get pretentious and call them nachos. 🙂 When I’m feeling really adventurous, I dip them in salsa, but only AFTER I’ve warmed them and melted the cheese. Hot salsa is icky.

    That pizza sounds … interesting. You should take a pic and post it. LOL

    If you’re taking count, I like aragula.

  2. I ended up not making the pizza, but may tonight. The difference in our tortilla/cheese melted madness is yours is a “snack” and mine’s a meal. But you reminded me I love green salsa and need some!

    I make a salad w/ arugula, Parmesan and a lemon vinaigrette from Barefoot Contessa. Sometimes I toss grilled chicken in it, too.

    Thanks for taking the time to comment!

Leave a Reply

