Turkey Burgers in the Wild

Standard

As you know, because this is a food-focused blog, I often post a recipe. It’s usually something I made up. The Food Network is not knocking on my virtual door to star in my own show, so don’t get too excited, Foodies.

Grill Me

Last weekend, my excellent pal Sarah and I made some kick-a** turkey burgers. I believe they would have been less impressive had we not cooked them on the hardwood lump charcoal-fueled grill.

“He Who No Longer Inhabits” spent many $$$$ on gas grills, trying to replicate the heat and cooking potential of a restaurant kitchen. In pursuit of the “best burger ever,” it never happened. Yes, there were a few good specimens, but my little Weber is the bomb. Fruit even tastes great grilled on it.

Stuffed Turkey Burgers

1 1/2 lbs. ground turkey

1/2 lb. ground pork (I added this because turkey is too lean for grilling, IMO.)

1/2 Vidalia onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

Pepper Jack cheese, sliced from a brick, about 1/4 ” thick

Good buns (heh, heh) I wanted to use pretzel buns, but store didn’t have them.

Cilantro mayo (recipe follows)

Mix turkey, pork, onion and garlic. (Sarah volunteered to do this fun part.) Form eight patties. On four of them, place two slices of cheese. Put the four remaining patties on top of cheese and pinch lightly to seal. We popped them in the freezer to keep the cheese from melting too quickly on the grill.

While they were grilling, we made up a mayo.

Cilantro/Lime Mayo

1 bunch of cilantro, finely chopped (I have a ton in my herb bed if you want some.)

Up to 2 T. fresh squeezed lime juice

Mayo, about 1/2 to 3/4 c.

Mix and let set up for a few minutes in fridge.

After burgers are done, let them rest a few minutes and spread mayo on top and bottom of buns.

Well, as happens every time I stuff a burger w/ cheese, it did melt out somewhat. But OMG, they were amazing! Even after eating a whole 1/2 pounder and being stuffed, I thought about those babies all night long. I sent one of the other burgers home w/ Sarah and I’m having my leftover one tonight.

They were cooked a bit on the medium side, but we were willing to risk trichinosis and plowed through them. Next time, I think I’ll make thinner patties and freeze the cheese slices separately before making them.

Let me know if you have a fave turkey burger recipe.

5 responses »

Leave a Reply

