Cookie Butter is the New Crack

Standard

Before I launch into my riff on this mind-altering substance, I must give a shout out to fellow grocery shopper Steve Barber. Steve’s post, “Why Men Shouldn’t Shop at Foodland” on the fab website An Army of Ermas gave my self-esteem a much-needed boost. He’s as clueless when grocery shopping as I am. Thanks for sharing your First Step with us (Admitting you’re powerless…for those of you non-12-Steppers).

Cookie Butter Madness

I found this magical substance at Trader Joe’ recently. It was on an end cap (yes, I used to work retail) w/ a Nutella-like product. I asked a clerk her opinion about both. Her eyes practically rolled back in her head as she chanted, “OMG, get the cookie butter!!! It’s amazing!!” With that recommendation, who wouldn’t want to give it a try?

I did and I’m attesting that this is like meth for the moderately upscale crowd that shops at TJ’s. When my excellent pal Sarah was over, I told her she had to taste it. She seemed mildly interested until she tried it and now I have hooked my first junkie. Amazing baker that she is, she was inspired to create something w/ CB as the star.

Brownies – No, I mean BROWNIES

Checking in w/ her grandmother who taught her to bake, Sarah liked the idea of making a cake frosting. Kind of like a peanut butter type, except w/ CB. Of course she made her signature brownies to host this amazing topping. Okay, it was brownie nirvana! The frosting was light and creamy, but rich on top of the dense fudginess. I would have mainlined them if I could.

CB Experiments

Here are some things I’ve tried w/ cookie butter:

  • Spread on a whole wheat bagel w/ sliced strawberries on top
  • Spread on a slightly nuked molasses crinkle cookie
  • On a spoon or finger straight from the jar

So go get some. Actually, you should get a case before they decide it’s an illegal substance.

4 responses »

  1. OMG – I’m not the only one!!! 😀 I got my first hit * cough * jar of this stuff not too long ago and know EXACTLY what you mean! Love, love, LOVE your post!!!
    ps – Thank you for the serving suggestions. Until now the only way I’ve been eating it is with a spoon right out of the jar.

    • Oh Holly, so glad to “meet” a fellow traveler.

      Someone just told me that near the cash registers, they have a dark chocolate candy bar w/…wait for it…COOKIE BUTTER FILLING! I think we’re headed WAY beyond this gateway drug!!

      • Hi Nancy! It’s great to “meet” you, too! I love your blog! I read your “About” page and I’ve looked at my grocery lists over the years and have had the same thoughts! (Holy cow – I swear I don’t normally end every sentence with an exclamation point – really!) I also wonder sometimes what the checker is thinking when s/he seems some of the odd combinations of things that land together at the checkout stand.
        Now that you’ve told me about the cookie butter filled chocolate, I have no choice but to march over to TJ’s and get some. Definitely beyond the gateway!!!

  2. Pingback: Just Running in for Some Coffee and Torilla Chips… « Single People's Grocery Lists

Leave a Reply

