The Siren Call of Costco

Standard
The Siren Call of Costco

Yes, that’s an obscure reference to “The Odyssey.” Sometimes you have to show off that liberal arts education, right?

After a five-month hiatus, I renewed my Costco membership this week, lured by their new shiny Visa. Gotta love a credit card application process that takes five minutes and gives you $2,100 to spend immediately. Just think how many paper products that could buy! And while I did love hoisting those 30 rolls of Charmin Ultra Soft into the mammoth cart, meat was my primary objective.

So I now have approximately 7 lbs. of assorted meaties marinating to grill out later. One problem – 16 mph winds out here on the prairie. Grill + big wind gust = possibly setting my shed on fire. I will definitely proceed with caution. Okay, back to my Costco love fest…

While I resisted the urge to spend up to that $2,100 limit on the new card, I managed to grab an impressive array of goods.

  • Toothpaste – a 4-pack of what turns out NOT to be my Colgate whitening usual style.
  • Generic Benadryl – the dog takes it.
  • A “luxurious Sherpa” throw – The dog and I go through a couple of these cheapies every winter.
  • MEAT! – 5 lbs. of pork tenderloin, 4 lbs. of organic chicken, 3 lbs. of apple/Gouda chicken sausages. (About half of that will get the grill treatment later, hopefully not with the optional shed sacrifice.)
  • Tissues – Yes, I’m aware of my thing about paper. 10 big boxes of Kleenex with goofy designs.
  • More stuff I can’t remember.

Total: $120.00

So, readers do you forgive the two-year plus hiatus I’ve taken from posting on this blog? If so, I’ll try to be more prolific. Thanks for coming back!

 

Leave a comment